PCR-Cycler for young researchers at the University of Stuttgart

Sep 14, 2017

The Labexchange Foundation is supporting students with the development of a biological pipe cleaner. On behalf of the Labexchange Foundation, Dr Wolfgang Kuster handed over a donation of a Stratagene Robocycler 96 to the project team at the University of Stuttgart.

Georg Singer wrote in his e-mail to Labexchange, “it would be absolutely fantastic and make things a lot easier for our team if Labexchange were to fund this device for us!”  On behalf of a group of 10 students from the University of Stuttgart, Singer asked for support with participation in the largest international student competition in the field of biotechnology. The “international genetically engineered machine” competition (iGEM) seeks to bring together and promote the fields of synthetic biology, bioinformatics and systems biology. This interdisciplinary contest was initiated by MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) in 2004. The University of Stuttgart is taking part in the competition for the first time.

By “this device”, Singer was referring to a second-hand Stratagene Robocycler 96 worth € 1,250. The students needed a PCR cycler, provided by the Labexchange Foundation, for their “LIGHT UP THE PIPE” project. The research team presented its project on the occasion of the hand-over of the donation by the foundation’s founder Dr Wolfgang Kuster.

The students have set themselves the task of developing a biological pipe cleaner based on the use of enzymes. For this reason, the biological pipe cleaner has to be more environmentally friendly than chemical cleaners used to date. The emphasis lies on the degradation of waste matter containing keratin, such as hair, soap residue and fat particles. As part of their project, the students want to develop a biobrick containing keratinase, lipase and esterase and combine these in such a way that contamination and waste of this kind can be sustainably degraded using biotechnological means.

The dedication and ambition invested by the students in their non-profit research project means they are making a positive contribution to environmental protection. The sponsorship of such innovative ideas, which take into account ecology and sustainability, is a cause which is particularly close to the heart of the Labexchange Foundation.



No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PCR-Cycler für junge Forschern an der Universität in Stuttgart

Sep 14, 2017
wksadmin

Die Labexchange Foundation unterstützt Studenten für die Entwicklung eines biologischen Rohrreinigers. Im Namen der Stiftung überreichte Dr. Wolfgang Kuster einen Stratagene Robocycler 96 als Spende an das Projektteam der Universität Stuttgart.

„Wenn Labexchange uns dieses Gerät finanzieren würde, wäre das der absolute Hammer und eine große Erleichterung für unser Team!“ schrieb Georg Singer in seiner E-Mail an Labexchange.  Im Namen einer Gruppe von 10 Studenten der Universität Stuttgart bat Herr Singer um Unterstützung für die Teilnahme am größten studentischen internationalen Biotechnologie-Wettbewerb. Der „international genetically engineered machine‘‘-Wettbewerb (iGEM) vereint und fördert fachübergreifend Bereiche der synthetischen Biologie, Bioinformatik und Systembiologie und wurde 2004 vom MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) ins Leben gerufen. Erstmals nimmt nun auch die Universität Stuttgart an diesem Wettbewerb teil.

Mit „diesem Gerät“ war ein Stratagene Robocycler 96 im Wert von 1.250,00 € gemeint. Für Ihr Projekt „LIGHT UP THE PIPE“ benötigten die Studenten einen PCR Cycler, den die Labexchange Foundation zur Verfügung stellte. Bei der Spendenübergabe durch Stiftungsgründer Dr. Wolfgang Kuster an der Universität Stuttgart stellte das Forschungsteam ihr Projekt persönlich vor.

Die Studenten haben es ich zur Aufgabe gemacht, einen biologischen Rohrreiniger zu entwickeln, welcher auf dem Einsatz von Enzymen basiert.  Daher soll der biologische Rohrreiniger umweltverträglicher sein, als bisher eingesetzte chemische Reiniger. Der Fokus liegt auf dem Abbau von keratinhaltigen Abfällen, wie Haare, Seifenreste und Fettpartikel.  Für Ihr Projekt wollen die Studenten einen Biobrick entwickeln, der Keratinasen/Lipasen/Esterasen enthält und so kombiniert, dass solche Verschmutzungen und Abfälle auf biotechnologische Art und Weise nachhaltig abgebaut werden können.

Mit viel Engagement und Ehrgeiz tragen die Studenten mit Ihrem gemeinnützigen Forschungsprojekt zur Verbesserung des Umweltschutzes bei. Die Förderung solch innovativer Ideen, die ökologische und nachhaltige Aspekte berücksichtigen, liegt der Labexchange Foundation besonders am Herzen.

No comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.