The Labexchange Award 2017 goes to the Bochum school cooperative RCA

Dec 15, 2017
wksadmin

The Labexchange Award 2017 was presented on 13 December 2017 in Burladingen. The Labexchange Foundation is honouring a unique company, set up and run independently by students of the TBS1 school in Bochum.

Trainees Celina Kaufhold and Deniz Hartwig, representing the registered school cooperative RuhrChemAlytic eSG (RCA), set off early in the morning on their 500-km journey to Burladingen in southern Germany.  The head of the School of Chemical Engineering and member of the supervisory board of the RCA, Dr Ingo Tausendfreund, accompanied his two students, who are members of the school cooperative’s management board.

The RCA is a company formed as part of a school project at the technical and vocational college TBS1 in Bochum. Its core competences lie in the analysis of water and heavy metals. The TBS1 student company sets a milestone in Germany’s educational landscape. The RCA is run independently and on their own initiative by trainees from the “Chemical-Technical Assistant” course. They meet every week in their free time at the training laboratories of the TBS1 to carry out analyses and work on research projects.

“Choosing the recipient of the Labexchange Award 2017 was by no means easy,” Dr Wolfgang Kuster admits at the beginning of his speech in front of the representatives of the RCA and employees from Labexchange. “However, the unique, highly practical and extremely motivating form of chemistry training we witnessed on our visit to Bochum goes far beyond the “standard education” offered in schools,” Kuster added. He explained the choice as follows: “Alongside their normal course programme, the young chemists work independently and voluntarily on research projects and analysis assignments for local companies and therefore gain practical insights above and beyond a purely theoretical approach. This allows them to immediately apply what they have learned in a business environment.“

As part of the awards ceremony, the students presented their company to those present and accepted the Labexchange Award on behalf of the other members of its management board. The award was symbolised by the handing-over of a glass stela and a certificate.  The RCA will receive support in the form of laboratory equipment and services to the value of around 3,000 euros.

Every year, the Labexchange Foundation – Wolfgang-Kuster-Stiftung acknowledges projects which are characterised by a high degree of individual initiative, which particularly stand out in the field of research or education and training and which fulfil the foundation’s criteria. Sponsorship takes the form of provision of analytic laboratory equipment free of charge or other financial resources. The backdrop to this is the core business of Labexchange, from which the foundation emerged. Labexchange deals in second-hand laboratory equipment and offers its customers services which prolong the service life of their laboratory devices. “In our ‘throwaway society’, this marks a significant step towards boosting sustainability,” Celina Kaufhold concludes.

 

 

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Labexchange Förderpreis 2017 geht an Bochumer Schülergenossenschaft RCA

Dez 15, 2017
wksadmin

Am 13.Dezember 2017 fand die Verleihung des Labexchange Förderpreises 2017 in Burladingen statt. Die Labexchange Foundation würdigte die einzigartige Einrichtung und das eigenverantwortliche Engagement der Schülerfirma der TBS 1 in Bochum.

Bereits früh morgens traten die Auszubildenden Celina Kaufhold und Deniz Hartwig, als Vertreter der eingetragenen Schülergenossenschaft RuhrChemAlytic eSG (RCA), die 500 Kilometer lange Reise ins süddeutsche Burladingen an.  Der Leiter der Fachschule für Chemietechnik und Aufsichtsrat der RCA,  Dr. Ingo Tausendfreund, begleitete seine beiden Schüler, die Vorstandmitglieder der Schülergenossenschaft sind.

Die RCA ist ein als Schulprojekt der Technischen Beruflichen Schule 1 in Bochum angelegtes junges Unternehmen mit den Kernkompetenzen auf dem Gebiet der Wasser- und Schwermetallanalytik. Die TBS1 setzt mit der Schülerfirma einen Meilenstein in der Bildungslandschaft Deutschlands. Die RCA wird von Auszubildenden des Bildungsganges „Chemisch-technischer Assistent“ eigenständig und selbstverantwortlich geleitet. Die Auszubildenden treffen sich wöchentlich in ihrer Freizeit in den Ausbildungslaboratorien der TBS1, um Auftragsanalysen durchzuführen und Forschungsprojekte zu bearbeiten.

„Die Auswahl des Empfängers des Labexchange – Förderpreises 2017 haben wir uns nicht leicht gemacht“, begann Dr. Wolfgang Kuster seine Laudatio an die Vertreter der RCA und an die Mitarbeiter von Labexchange. „Doch die einzigartige, sehr praxisnahe und äußerst motivierende Form der Chemieausbildung, die wir bei unserem Besuch in Bochum erleben durften, geht weit über eine schulische „Standardausbildung“  hinaus“, so Kuster weiter. „Die jungen Chemiker arbeiten neben ihrer Ausbildung freiwillig und eigenständig an Forschungsprojekten und Auftragsanalysen für örtliche Unternehmen und haben dadurch einen aktuellen und relevanten Praxisbezug, der weit über einen theoretischen Lernansatz hinausgeht und der das Gelernte gleich in die unternehmerische Praxis umsetzt.“, begründete Dr. Kuster die Entscheidung.

Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung stellten die Schüler ihre Schülerfirma den Anwesenden vor und nahmen in Vertretung der weiteren Schülervorstände den ausgelobten Labexchange-Förderpreis entgegen. Symbolisch wird der Förderpreis mit der Übergabe einer Glasstele und einer Urkunde übergeben.  Als Förderung erhält die RCA Laborgeräte und Dienstleistungen im Wert von etwa 3.000,- Euro.

Die Labexchange Foundation – Wolfgang-Kuster-Stiftung würdigt mit dem Förderpreis jedes Jahr ein Projekt, das sich durch Eigeninitiative auszeichnet und sich im Bereich der Forschung oder Aus- und Weiterbildung in besonderer Weise hervorhebt und die Stiftungskriterien erfüllt. Die Förderung erfolgt durch die kostenlose Überlassung analytischer Laborgeräte oder anderen Fördermitteln. Hintergrund ist das Kerngeschäft des Unternehmens Labexchange, aus dem die Stiftung hervorging. Labexchange handelt mit gebrauchten Laborgeräten und bietet dem Kunden Serviceleistungen an, die die Lebensdauer der Laborgeräte verlängern. „In Zeiten unserer Wegwerfgesellschaft ein guter Schritt zur Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit“  findet Celina Kaufhold.

No comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.